fantasy

A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause book review

“Don’t judge people by the way they dress. There can be angels in rags and demons in silk.” – A Dress for the Wicked

IMG_8867

Ugh I knowwww. I should have posted this review yesterday, but life happened. Anyway, here we go.

First of all let me tell you a little bit about A Dress for the Wicked. This book is about a girl named Emmeline, Emmy for short. She has had this profound love for fashion and design since she was very little, using almost anything to recreate designs from the most prestigious magazines she could find. The thing is though, Emmy lives in a small town in the ”middle of nowhere”, where fashion is not appreciated, and even frowned upon.

Naturally, Emmy grew up not fitting anywhere. Her mom’s expectation for her were the complete opposite for what Emmy dreamed to accomplish- managing a pub and scrubbing floors, was not what she had in mind for her future.

So what do fantasy Main characters do in these situations, my little padawans? They rebel lol. Emmy decided to surrender to her mom’s plans until a life-changing opportunity happens.

Madame Jolene’s fashion competition at her world-renowned Fashion House.

Things happen and luck, spunkiness, and determination take Emmy to the halls of the Fashion house in the city, where she will have to fight for a spot among Madame Jolene’s top designers, and in the meantime, uncover secrets, find love, and discover the truth behind the wall of smoke fashion has created. One dress at a time.

giphy

I don’t know why, but in my mind, this book was a mashup of The Selection (because of the competition), Cinderella, and fashion vibes. Well, it ended up being that minus the cinderella and The Selection hehe. Ok, I’m not saying I didn’t like it, it just was completely different than what I thought it would be.

The first act was kinda meh for me, but I pushed through it. It did get better once you hit the 30% mark. The thing is though, I need a solid act one for me to get invested in the characters. I feel Emmy didn’t have much of a personality. BUT, the strange thing is that I did love the side characters! Especially Sophie and Kitty. I feel their personalities were so complex and intriguing, you couldn’t figure them out for the world, and it was that mysteriousness of what they were going to do next that did it for me.

I also love the love interest in the book. He is a cool dude with a unique backstory and profession that I quite liked. The relationship itself… maybe a little too rushed. I wanted to see more development there. I’m not in for the love-at-first-sight trope 🙈.

I wanted to love this book so much (I even bought my own Kindle copy *cries*) but I was left wanting more. I needed more worldbuilding, more darkness to the frivolous story of dressmaking. I wanted to see the dark side of fashion. The competitivity, the all or nothing side of it.

In case you want to read it, it is a clean book! There are some light curse words here and there like h*ll and d*mn, but otherwise, no inappropriate scenes or relationships. 😉

Rating: ⭐️⭐️ 2 1/2 /5

Book blurb:

Betrayal has never been so fashionable than in Autumn Krause’s glamorous debut, perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.

True to its name, the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-upon-Kynt is a place where nothing much happens. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing.

But when the head of the most admired fashion house in the country opens her prestigious design competition to girls from outside the stylish capital city, Emmy’s dreams seem closer than they ever have before.

As the first “country girl” to compete, Emmy knows she’ll encounter extra hurdles on her way to the top. But as she navigates the twisted world of high fashion, she starts to wonder: Will she be able to tailor herself to fit into this dark, corrupted race? And at what cost?

 

Get your copy of A Dress for the Wicked here!

Add A Dress for the Wicked to your Goodreads shelf here!

2 thoughts on “A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause book review”

  1. This book sounds interesting. I think I might give it a try(just not with high expectations)

    It reminds me of Spin the Dawn. I haven’t read that book, but the plot sounds similar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s